Reviews

What Are Customers Saying?

Real reviews from customers who have already purchased SelfEco products. Each customer is sent a review request after purchase.

 


★★★★★

06/03/17

Nice Product

"Easy planting the entire pod in the garden after the seedlings appeared... I recommend this product especially if you do not have a "green thumb"." – Skymuffin


★★★★★

06/03/17

Pot Luck

"The self-feeding seed-starting pots are a wonderful tool for any gardener. All you have to do is dump in soil, plant the seeds in them, and water. You can stick the pots in the ground immediately and they will disintegrate on their own to allow the plants to transition from seeds to full grown plants. This, in turn, prevents any disturbance of the root systems or possibly stunting the plants' growth. There is absolutely no transplanting required so you can spend more time enjoying your garden with less work. I decided to grow a herb garden on my deck since I have tons of animals that will eat plants such as deer, woodchucks, rabbits, and squirrels just to name a few. After following the procedure for growing the herbs, I set the pots out on a tray with a lip so that I could water them with ease and keep them grouped together. The first problem that I encountered was that the squirrels found the pots a tasty treat and some of them were destroyed as a result. I have a couple that are split apart but are still usable. I have even noted that some of the herbs are already starting to grow in the semi-damaged pots. Another problem with not burying the pots in large planters on my deck is that the rain made them soggy and started breaking down the pots before some of the seeds had a chance to sprout. However, I have used peat pots in the past and they did not break down and caused the plant to have its growth stunted. At least with these pots, I have a fighting chance to have healthy plants, which is difficult when you live in the Northeast. I will plant these pots in a couple of oversized planters so that they can disintegrate without exposing the root system and having soil spill out everywhere. I do recommend these compostable pots since this company is considerate about the environment and the pots make it easier to grow healthy plants." – Amazon Customer


★★★★★

05/22/17

SelfEco's contribution to my garden and environment are SelfEvident (see what I did there?)

"This is one of those world-changing products that not only helps my garden, but makes us feel good. These self-feeding pots decompose in the soil AND fertilize the plant. What's not to like?" – L. Brennan


★★★★★

04/29/17

Not organic, but definitely better for the environment than plastic, and no mold like peat pots.

"Nice solid pots. They are brittle out of the box, not soft like peat pots, but that it fine for me because they aren’t easy to break. I planted seedlings in them and left the pots out in the weather, and after about 4 weeks the plants were healthy and the pots showed no outward signs of mold or deterioration. Once in the ground they do take some time to start breaking down, however if watered regularly, after a short time they do begin to decompose, and once they start it goes fast. I didn’t get the impression that there was specifically fertilizer added to the pots, and that was good. To me it seems like they include more of a composted type fertilizer. While not organic the composted fertilizer should be much better for the environment, and your garden, than bagged fertilizer. Of course the total lack of plastic is the main draw, well that and the lack of mold produced by peat pots, so there is no doubt these are a very good way to eliminate unneeded plastic. Overall I had no issues with the pots, my plants grew very well, and the pots did break down, so these are a fantastic idea and work very well. They’re a trouble free option for any gardener who is not too focused on organic gardening, but does want to be more environmentally friendly." – Amazon Customer


★★★★★

04/29/17

Too Soon To Tell UPDATED!

"Instead of stars on this we need a "too soon to tell" button. Here's my initial take on these pots. They are sturdy, rigid, but at the same time almost brittle. Be sure that you don't accidentally remove the bottom tabs too soon. All the soil will fall out the big holes at the bottom. On that same note, you have to pack your soil pretty tight at the bottom so you don't lose it when you remove the bottom tabs. I am skeptical at best that these will break down in any kind of reasonable time. I have a test pot, full of soil, buried in one of my beds. Been watering it faithfully when it doesn't rain. This has been in the ground for 1 week now and there is no noticeable change in then integrity of the pot. It has been fairly warm here so it should be heating up. I appreciate the thought on this product, but I need to see it work before I get too excited. Will update as this progresses, if it does.

UPDATE: As of today, about 10 days after I planted it the pot can be broken up with my fingers. It is degrading now, very rapidly and I have changed my rating to 5 stars instead of 3. If these are kept fairly moist, they will break down faster." – Amazon Customer


★★★★☆

04/28/17

A bit brittle, but otherwise works fine

"These worked well for me at a bit of a price premium over the basic plastic seed-starting pots. The peel away parts to open up the pots once they're in the garden is a good feature. Let the roots out before the pot completely disintegrates even. The pots felt a bit brittle in my hands when I was planting, but it didn't cause a problem, so perhaps that isn't an issue at all." – Michael A. Duvernois


★★★★★

04/25/17

Love Them!

"I LOVE these pots! You can get a decent-sized plant started indoors when it's still cold outside, and then easily replant them outside when the weather warms up. These are so much better and easier than regular plastic pots -- you just plant the whole thing in the ground or container, and you're done. With the regular plastic pots, it's a messy job to remove the plant and replant it in its permanent home, plus you have to disturb the roots and the rest of the plant to get it done, which can lead to hurting the plant. I'm going to get more of these because I'm simply delighted with the ease and plant-friendliness of them." – Amazon Customer


★★★★★

04/24/17

Exactly what I needed to transplant cuttings from our fig trees

"We're moving and want to take cuttings from our ancient fig trees and roses to our new farm. These little pots are serving my purposes nicely. I like that I can put my cuttings in the pot and plant the entire thing directly into the ground. These are small and light, so they are intended for a young plant or flower just starting. Hopefully, the roses will do well with the built-in plant food - I have a notorious black thumb, so any extra help for my plants is welcome." – Amazon Customer


★★★★★

04/22/17

Good for starting seeds, growing plants and reducing plastic waste!

"Everyone should use these in order to reduce the number of plastic pots that end up in the land fill. Planted seeds in them and kept them in the sunroom till sprouted and then placed out in the garden -- pot and all. Pot is already starting to decompose." – M. Lauer


★★★★★

04/12/17

Sturdier than expected--better eco alternative that peat/coir pots

"I understand the appeal of coir or peat pots. They are made of plants and you can bury them when planting and the roots will grow right through. The problem with them is when I'm growing my seedlings, they tend to pick up mildew (unlike their plastic counterparts) because they stay wet on my self-feeding mats. Not everybody has this situation, so some may prefer those. But these are sturdier than the peat/coir pots--in fact they are sturdier than some of my non-disposable plastic pots. They don't retain water in their surface, so you won't get the mildew, and you can still bury them like the peat pots. Time will tell if they disintegrate if not buried (if you want to reuse them). But if you bury them, you have the benefit of not disrupting the root system as you would if you remove the plant and replant." – Henrietta


★★★★★

01/12/17

... last growing season in a community garden and had fantastic results. Other members of the garden club wanted ...

"I used the self feeding compostable pots from SelfEco last growing season in a community garden and had fantastic results. Other members of the garden club wanted to know why my garden plants were so much bigger and producing more than their gardens. It was all the SelfEco pots. I started some of my seeds indoors earlier in the pots like my zucinni, peppers and cucumbers. Fantastic results!!!" – Amazon Customer


★★★★★

01/10/17

Growing Veggies & Flowers

"These self-feeding pots have been fantastic for growing plants, veggies & flowers, on our deck and flower beds. I just put my young plant in a SelfEco pot and either bury it in a container or in the flower bed. Because they are compostable I didn't have to remove pieces of it the next season (this is my second season), and since it has the necessary nutrients in the pot I don't have bags of fertilizer that have to be stored." – P.C.


★★★★★

06/01/16

Garden Momma

"They were so easy to use and plant in the ground. I started most of my plants by seed in the Selfeco pots and they all are flourishing. The tomato plants I purchased in the Selfeco pots are weeks ahead of others in our community garden that did not heave the Selfeco pots. Very pleased and would highly recommend using these pots again." – Lorinda M.


★★★★★

05/31/16

Great!

"My peppers and tomatoes have never looked this good this early! Thanks SelfEco!" – Robin R.